A Michigan Man’s Rant About an Unjust Law Goes Viral

Shares 302

Written by: Tim Yow Jr

Here is one that should speak to many of us Libertarians, particularly, the ones who want to criticize other Libertarians for their time spent on Facebook. I believe the term being thrown around is “keyboard warrior”. Don’t get me wrong, I do agree that it would do many of us good to give our devices a rest and step out of the house at least once a week and do something to make a difference. First consider what just happened in Michigan due to a Facebook rant.

A guy from Roseville, Michigan took to Facebook to call out the police officer who ticketed him $128 for warming his car in his driveway.

Yeah, that’s right! Michigan won’t let you fire up your car and get that seat warmer working before you climb in for that chilly morning commute. In reality, there are 29 other states with the same law, plus the District of Columbia. More about that later. Back to our keyboard warrior.

So the Michigan guy, Nick Taylor, posted a picture of the ticket and had a few choice words for the officer who came with the gift. Yes, that part is old news and there is a good chance you heard it already, which is exactly why I’m talking about it now. The attention this got became a news story of its own. His short rant went viral and within a very short amount of time, several Detroit news stations, plus others, picked up the story and so did Inside Edition.

Nick Taylor Facebook Rant

Thank you, Nick Taylor! You did more to bring attention to an unjust law than those marching on a city hall or a state capitol usually ever will. You have proven that, perhaps, we can use social media to make a difference. I don’t know if you are a fellow Libertarian but it sounds that way and we would be happy to have you join forces with other freedom lovers.

Now, about that law

In case you are wondering, leaving your car running and unattended is illegal in AZ, CA, CO, CT, DE, GA, HI, IL, LA, ME, MD, MA, MN, MO, NV, NH, NJ, NY, OH, OR, PA, RI, SC, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WI, WY and last but certainly not least, DC. Keep in mind, this does not include city or county ordinances.

What is so special about DC is that they will allow you to warm a car for up to 5 minutes, but after the 300th tick on the clock, the fine is $1000 for your first offence. This one seemed significant enough to mention even though I am sure there might be one or two states that have a doozy, as well.

Incidentally, it is also against the law in AK, CT, GA, MA, MI, NH, NJ, PA, RI, TN and WI to drive without clearing all of your windows of snow and ice thoroughly.

Nothing says welcome to winter like a hefty fine to go with your bitter cold weather.

Shares 302